‘Tis the season to be jolly!

Standard

And we were! The holiday season has been so much fun that i did not even find the time to blog..which for someone like me means a lot! 

 So, in some earlier posts, I shared with you our christmas cards and then our yummy christmas cookies. 

 Before Christmas, we also discovered one more sooooper cooool thing! Home made body paint. I experimented with the ingredients to get the right texture….but it’s really quite simple…the stellar cast included cornflour (but of course), baby lotion and food color…yup! That is all that is needed…seriously! and it takes about 5 minutes to make. I cannot tell you the exact proportions of cornflour to lotion…roughly equal with the cornflour being a little more than the lotion. Like i said, i played around till i got a smooth spreadable yet not runny consistency. Then i added the food colors…picked nice bright greens and blues and orange and pink and then stripped the boys down to their underpants and we were ready to roll. Oh my God! It was SO much fun! Each of the boys had a different approach to it. Nish applied it carefully on his face …starting out slowly and then really getting into the groove and smearing it on more generously; Sid just painted himself like a Masai warrior and let out whoops of crazy joy while he was at it. Amu got his hands into it and put it wherever he could (including on himself). It was such a success that I repeated this the following day when we had friends with kids who had come over. All five boys had a blast. To quote Julia Donaldson from Cave Baby, “They rollicked and they frolicked”. 

Image

Image

Image

 

We ended the evening with some frozen colored ice that they took into the bath for a colorful end to a colorful evening! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

