brotherly love

Standard

This morning, Nish was in a generally foul mood..he woke up cranky and then proceeded to burst into a fresh bout of tears at the smallest thing. My patience was wearing thin and so when he started crying about what he did not want for breakfast (pancakes with syrup and hersheys on the side and not on top as per his previous order) I decided enough was enough and put his plate away on the kitchen counter. Then I quickly made a batch of paint for Amu with help from Sid and the two of us set up the paint area…plastic mat, papers, brushes, sponges and some water. 

Nish came into the bedroom screaming anew because he wanted to paint too…but we have a few rules around the house…and till he was done with breakfast he could not join us to paint..especially not if he was throwing such  massive tantrum. So he stood next to us and continued to cry a little. I asked Sid whether we could start painting..and the good brother that he is he replied: “No! No! I want to wait for Nish.” Knowing our rules he then addressed Nish, “wait here..i will get your pancake and i can feed it to you ok…then you can paint too!”

I thought that was really really sweet. And true to his word, he got the pancake from the kitchen. In the interest of time and the painting mat i fed Nish and we all painted together! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

