staking his claim

Standard

My almost 3 year old Sid is quite territorial and likes to stake his claim on stuff around him. Not necessarily a good thing…just an observation.

Anyway, he was sitting at the table this morning as i ate my breakfast and staring for a bit at my ring. “Aai!” (mom) he finally said after looking at it for a bit. “This ring is very pretty!” “Thank you Sid” i replied. He was obviously not done yet…”Can I have it?” (Big bambi eyes and a smile to melt my heart). No love, this is a special ring. I can’t give this to you. Your dad gave this one to me  for our wedding anniversary” (weddings are big in Sid’s mind right now – we recently attended 2). “OK”, he bargained, willing to compromise a little, “then will you give it to me at my wedding?”

That’s a long way off…so i consented. I can give it to you wife Sid i said…is that cool? 

Yes he replied. “That is OK”. And, striking when the proverbial iron was hot he quickly added, “And will you then also give me you macbook and the kindle and your phone too?” 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

