The Prabhadevi Fair!!!

Standard

I haven’t been this excited about a fair since i can’t remember when…probably also because I have not been near one since i was 6. We used to have a fair in the Gowalia Tank ground near where I gre up but they stopped it when I was really little and that was the last I saw of a fair. But I still remember how exciting it all seemed to me then…the lights, the giant wheels and the car rides…and all the cheap plastic toys on display! The little snack stalls and the bright balloons. 

All these memories came flooding back when we saw the Prabhadevi Fair (jatra) being set up a couple of days ago right by where we now live. The boys have been running to the window to peer at the preparations since mid week when a bunch of trucks came along with all kinds of equipment for the set up. And on thursday night when they started testing the ferrous wheel and the bumping cars and other rides the boys were positively bouncing with excitement..amu included! When the lights came on they oohed and aahed with delight and although it was a school night I gave in and took all the boys down with the nanny too. A few of the little kiddy rides had started and the boys were super thrilled to sit on a train and then a helicopter and a bike.

Image

We walked past stalls and stalls selling all kinds of toys..ones I had completely forgotten about. And it was sweet to see how the boys were attracted to the crazy junk just like i remember being at that age. We spent time watching a rickety tin boat float around a tub, we saw little stainless steel utensils for kids to play with and i may pick them up and add them to our fairly western cooking set that the boys already love. There were tiny graters and sieves and mortar and pestles, teeny tiny buckets and pails and tubs and even tiny pressure cookers! 

Stalls with jewellery had them enthralled too as the cheap baubles glittered in the neon lights and tinkled with the cool evening breeze. 

Image

It was difficult to walk away, but we left determined to be back. The boys made notes of what they wanted to do on the next trip there…the motorbike roundabout, the stall with (almost ready to break instantly) plastic cars, a keychain shop that they found fascinating amongst other things.

The fair is around for a week and we are going to get our fair share of the excitement there. It looks like it is going to be a bright and colourful week ahead! 

Image

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

