Birthdays, celebrations and painting a wall

Standard

Sounds like the perfect weekend doesn’t it? It was! 

We spent saturday and sunday in lonavala with the whole family…the 5 of us, my parents, my brother and sister in law, a cousin and an aunt who were both visiting from the US. 

It was my mom’s birthday and the boys had made multilpe cards for her. They helped me bake a cake too…a really simple and super delicious one (http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2013/11/13/orange-glazed-cranberry-bread/)…well, more a bread than a cake but super deelish and i strongly recommend the recipe. I did not need to modify it all that much…only substituted almonds for the pecans. 

Image

The garden was explored and re-explored. We found jackfruits in varying stages of growth…grapefruits and spider webs on the grapefruit trees. We discovered dew, the smell of lemon flowers and the compost pit.

Image

Sid made an interesting analogy to a garbage dump truck when he was observing the gardener sweep and collect the dry leaves and flowers before dumping them into the pit. 

We did crayoning and painting and the highlight of the painting was a large compound wall that we started to paint. We have decided that it will be a collaborative family mural. So every time we go there we will add to it. This time we started out with a simple tree and all of us made palm prints for leaves…so the tree has palm prints for the smallest member Amu as well as for the oldest members (my parents and aunt). Nish added some “details” at the bottom of the tree as well. Image

Nish learned how to bounce the ball!!! And Amu managed to climb up a ladder when i turned away for a minute. He also discovered the big garden broom and got very busy!

The weekend was even more special because my dad received a prestigious award and so it was celebrations all around! All three boys loved the time with their family and the attention that came along with it! 

We really had a wonderful time! 

 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

