shut up!!!!

Standard

I could hardly believe my ears when my older twin snapped at me…most defiantly. Yesterday was a looong tough day. The boys had a holiday and the twins had decided to fight about and over every possible thing…right down to the color of the ikea bowl they were having their snack in. We had some puja stuff lying around because it was the maharashtrian new year and we had finished our puja together (where right in the middle of the proceedings, the boys decided to fight for who got to ring the little bell). There were a lit diya (small candle) and some incense and Sid decided to climb up something right there. I told him about three or four times to cut it out and finally i lost it (for the third time that day) and yelled at him. He looked at me and very simply said :SHUT UP!

“To you corner NOW” i yelled back (not a very inspiring performance, i know)

To which, he promptly stomped off and plonked himself in our “tantrum and thinking corner”. As a show of support and sudden solidarity, his twin Nish pouted and glared at me and walked over to his brother and sat down in the corner too (totally taking away from the concept in one easy move). 

I failed to see any humour in this and took Amu for his shower, choosing to ignore the twins for the moment. As soon as they heard the water running and amu laughing with joy over the bubbles in his bath, they came into the bathroom and said they wanted to have a bath too. I was still upset (and set myself up for another last laugh situation) and so i simply said “No, I am not giving you a bath right now.” As I was finishing up towelling Amu, I heard Sid telling Nish, “It’s ok…you help me take off my clothes and I will help you take off yours. Then we can have our bath”. 

The two of them got into the shower and after a bit Sid called out to me. I went in to find that they had finished soaping themselves and were almost done. I was much calmer then…and Sid probably sensed it as he gave me a sheepish smile as asked “tu majhyashi bolte ahes kaa? (are you talking to me?) 

After that the boys came into bed, we read for a big and cuddled and Sid fell asleep with his head nestled against my shoulder. As i looked at my sleeping boys, I thought about the day and how snappy i had gotten at the end of it. Little wonder then that they yelled back at me…i wasnt exactly setting a great example (though, where on earth did they pick up Shut UP???) 

At times, it is easy to get flustered and irritated and lose my cool..i just need to catch myself before i do it…i have now asked the twins to help me out there…so if they see me getting upset, they will remind me to take a breath. Let’s see if that works!

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

