Pat-a cake pat-a cake baker boys

Standard

his week we got a wonderful present from a close family friend…the boys received their very own mini baking set (ikea) with a baking tray, a bund cake tin, a pie tin and four lovely cookie cutters. The twins were over the moon and Amu as always shared in all their excitement with loud squeals of joy and repeated reminders of his involvement in whatever was happening by pointing to himself and saying “Amana do” (he currently calls himself amana).

The boys wanted to bake RIGHT AWAY! But i managed to calm them down so that we could do it the following afternoon after school. That evening in the park we met two classmates who were promptly invited to join in the baking.

Since the cake tins were pretty small I decided they would probably lead to pushing and fighting, so i made some cookie dough in the morning and kept it to chill. When all the boys came home from school we got the five little bakers ready for their cookies. I had a tray with toppings – m&ms and different sprinkles ready. I dusted our marble top table with flour, gave them rolling pins and got them started, The boys loved playing with the dough…but which also meant the heat from their hands made it a little melty and rolling became tough. The dough also was not chilled enough in my opinion. So in stead of using the cookie cutters, the boys rolled the dough into balls, flattened it and then added heaps of toppings (one little baker ate a lot of the toppings too!)

Then it was into the oven for the cookies – distributed over my tray and the mini ikea tray for them to bake and brown while the baker boys played on the bunk-bed and with cars.

They left with a cookie in their tummies and another couple in a box – for brothers and fathers and mothers to try. It was definitely fun, definitely messy and rather yum!<a 

Image

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

