Changes changes big and small

Standard

This past month has been one of changes. My biggest boy changed jobs and we have moved cities. About 15 days ago, we moved out of our apartment and to my mom’s while we sorted through the tons of stuff accumulated over the years at home. A never ending and fairly difficult task which culminated in the arrival of the packers and movers after which point they took over our place and space and got down to work. Our lives got put away into neatly labelled boxes and we pulled out and put in last minute things. 

For the boys this has been a tumultuous period. First moving out of their home without most of their books and toys. However, since we were at grandma’s place they got a lot of attention and generally had a good time. It was nice bonding for all of them too and baby Amu seemed to have developed a really lovely bond with his grandfather. 

Through the two weeks that we were at mom’s i was out constantly getting stuff sorted and done and running a zillion errands. This couple with 2 overnight trips to Bangalore to finalize the house left the twin – especially Sid, very unsettled and insecure. So we have had tantrums, general crankiness and acting out. Amu has added ‘shaddup” to his vocab courtesy Sid and he generously hands it out to all and sundry (in addition to biting as he is getting 3 teeth all at once). 

Our nanny who has been with us since before the boys turned 1 has not come with us to Bangalore and we have a new girl who the boys are taking a little time getting used to. My old car is sold…and the boys were pretty upset about that too (however, the materialistic fellows were quickly buoyed by the realization that this meant we were getting a new car!) 

I have tried hard to make this move as easy as possible for the boys. we involved them in the apartment search by showing them pictures and sharing our thoughts with them. We got them excited about the new apartment complex and all the cool stuff that comes with it. They are thrilled that we have two floors and stairs that they can run up and down. But they miss school and their friends …they miss their old home and their grandparents and are just generally unsettled by all the changes and lack of predictability. 

I hope they settle down soon because it is hard to see them to clingy and cranky. They are pretty excited too so i guess once we actually move into our new home they will settle down. 

They love the green spaces around them as well…the trees, the flowers and the lovely parks. Will blog more about our outings there with pics! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

