First day at a new school

Standard

New city, new house, new friends….new school. Yet another chapter started today as the twins had their first day at their new school in Bangalore. After announcing upfront that nothing could be as nice as By the Sea where they went to school in Mumbai, the twins accompanied us on a few school visits to help decide on their new preschool. We narrowed it down to 2 and then finally selected one that we all liked a lot. Gaia (which means mother Earth / a goddess of creation in Greek)…it looks like a lovely place for the kids. A stand alone house with a nice garden (not manicured but fairly organic in its growth)…fruit trees and space to run around, a generally warm staff. 

The kids were super excited about their first day and almost as soon as we entered Nish ran inside to look at a purple trike. Sid was slightly more apprehensive and stood by me asking me not to leave. I let him stand for a bit then gently explained that i was only going to go home for a bit and then be back to pick them up..just like at By the Sea. After about 10 minutes, he suddenly decided he was ready to let go and so he turned around and said “ok…see you later”. He then went and asked the coordinator for his bottle, took a few sips and waved goodbye. 

They were fine after that. When i asked them what they did, Sid reported that they had yummy carrot sticks and cucumber for snack…and he enjoyed a story that was read out. Good to see them enjoying the new school. They are looking forward to tomorrow as well. 

The little one (Amu) on the other hand is a little upset that his brothers are not around. He hardly splashed around in the bath this morning. But we got a good chunk of time to read together and do some puzzles. Normally he hardly gets any alone time with me so I guess this is good for both of us too! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

One response »

Leave a Reply

