time out???

Standard

My 18 month old is getting to be quite a naughty fellow. He also has a fairly well developed sense of humour…and is fast beginning to assert his independence…all in all a lethal combo.

Last month Sid picked up “shut up” from a friend, used it for a couple of days and then forgot all about it. Not quite the same story in Amu’s case. He picked it up from Sid, figured out the usage and has been generously doling it out to all and sundry. it started out as shaddaaaa which was not always obvious in terms of its meaning to people. But now he articulates it pretty well “shaddup”. I tried ignoring it in the beginning, hoping it would just die a natural death like it had with the twins when they were around his age. I gave him the benefit of the doubt in the hope that he thought of it as just another word whose meaning he had not grasped. But he had. And he is not forgetting the word in a hurry. So all of us are treated to his verbal assault on a regular basis.Ā 

I have tried to tell him it is not OK. “Don’t do it. I don’t like it” or “No saying shut up. It is not nice” or even “NO!” (in a firm and loud voice). Day before i took him to the corner, gave him a little rug to sit and made him wait there for a couple of minutes.Ā 

Today he was spitting water all over the floor deliberately and when the nanny took away the bottle he looked at her and said “Shaddup”. Then he looked at me and strutted over to the time out corner. “uh oh! corner!” he announced and plonked down and made himself comfortable. I tried to ignore him as he flashed bambi smiles at me all through.Ā 

Any suggestions???

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

4 responses »

  1. I need to finish cracking up first! šŸ˜€ He clearly enjoys a response and shares your goofball sense of humor, so ignoring may work better than this madly cute self-punishing act that will make you melt sooner or later!

  2. status update on shut up…still persists. if anything he is now developing different styles and ways of saying it. ignoring does not help and neither does the corner. He knows it is wrong to say it..he said it today and promptly looked at me and added “no no shut up! not good”
    suggestions??

Leave a Reply

