seeds, pods, egg cartons and babies…deep discussions

Standard

A great thing about being around nature is the stimulus it provides..it is like a natural crucible for enquiry! The other day we were playing in a park near home and the kids found some pods which had dropped from the tree in the garden.  Naturally when one of them found a pod, the other two had to start searching for some too and in the process they found a lot of open ones which had no seeds in them. They would pick it up and look at it, shake it and declare…no noise from this one! I took the pod that Sid had found and explained that his made a rattling sound because it had a seed in it while the others had opened up and did not have seeds inside them to make sounds. Then Nish spotted a ‘seed’ on the ground. It was no longer dry and brown but had turned a translucent green and had a slender shoot coming out. sitting upon the loose soil we could even see part of the root. This got the boys quite excited and we did a little recap on seeds (we had planted some earlier) (https://myfourboysandme.wordpress.com/2013/07/30/our-own-little-plants/

Then we saw a long pod with lots of seeds..that was almost musical to play with and listen to. Sid opened the pod lengthwise and declared it looked alike a snake. After we collected a few more “snakes” i talked to the boys about how the pods kept the seeds safe and protected till they were ready to come out. “Like a baby” said Sid. I was blown away by the metaphor. I had recently talked to them about babies and how mothers carried them inside till they were ready to be born and it was cool to see how that information had been processed and tucked away! 

Anyway, when we came home i showed them an egg carton and told them how it was designed keeping things like pods seeds in mind so that the eggs are protected and do not break…

…Nothing is simply a walk in the woods! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

