a mouse took a stroll through the deep dark wood

Standard

Ok…so we did not see the gruffalo…but we did see a mouse..many mice…rats even! We had a lovely stroll through Cubbon Park last week. Instead of going to the part of the park that has the swings and slides, we decided this time to walk through the park and see what all we could find.

Our first stop was on what the boys called “the mountain”….basically a large rock that you could climb up and chill out on. We decided to sit down and have our snack there. As we were nibbling on crackers and nuts we had a few uninvited guests…two beady eyes peered at us from under a bush and then we saw more beady eyes. A brave mouse actually slowly edged out from under the bush but then changed his mind and scampered back in. We saw a few holes and noticed a baby mouse going in and out.  After a bit we decided to pack up and move on.

We stopped to look at ant hills and possible rat or crab holes (or snake holes, as nish wisely pointed out). Then we moved on to a thickly wooded part of the park which had lots and lots of bamboos. As we stood under the dense bamboo plants we heard the wind rustling through the leaves and the rtall bamboo stalks creaking and groaning as they moved and rubbed against one another. “It sounds just like a waterfall or a river!” said Sid and all three boys listened carefully to the bamboo. They spotted four different types of mushrooms growing under the bamboos…right from really tiny ones to a couple of massive white mushrooms.

We then went around looking for different types of seeds and pods. Found 3-4 different kinds and we shook each one to hear the sound and guess the size of the seeds inside it. 

We stopped to listen to the birds…saw parrots, mynahs, kites, red vented bulbuls and even a couple of bats.

The boys stopped to climb onto the low branches of an old old tree and Nish discovered all kinds of pugmarks on the mud (mainly dogs…maybe a cat).

Our grand finale was the discovery of the mimosa plant (touch me not). We decided to dig one out and take it home to plant…that is when we also discovered that it has sharp protective thorns!

All in all a lovely day…I had thought the boys would tire of the walk and ask for the other park but i was pleasantly surprised at how much they enjoyed the walk through the “woods”. I think giving them stuff to find/ look for added to the fun element and they were so excited with all their discoveries.

Next on the agenda is a picnic to the park. We have identified a couple of nice spots and it will be good to just chill there and enjoy the trees and the birds and the bees!

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

