Art attack

Standard

It is now getting so interesting to watch the boys paint. Nish especially takes his painting stuff pretty seriously. Now at 3yrs 4 months he has developed a rather good control over the brush (and markers, crayons, etc) and he concentrates as he tries to execute what he plans beforehand. He usually decides he will paint a car or a bike or a bus and then chooses a medium. Having recently discovered water colors and flat brushes he has started developing a couple of his own techniques. So he either picks a thin brush and carefully draws the outline of what he wants and then fills it in with water colors using a flat brush or markers. After he saw me using different tools for textures, he tries it too.

Yesterday, i picked up a few stamps (stiff foam) for the kids..an octopus, a dolphin, a turtle and a frog. Nish decided it would be fun to first do a flat wash and then stamp on it. So both boys took large flat brushes and did a blue and green wash on the paper. We let it dry as they had dinner and then sat down to stamp. For this we used the dot markers.

Then surveying his sheet, Nish decided to use a stencil to do small fish. Here he used a regular brush tipped marker. Sid looked at it and said “These are like the Swimmy fish. (Leo Lionni.. yo can look at our earlier post – https://myfourboysandme.wordpress.com/2013/08/07/reading-swimmy-by-leo-lionni/).
“Even the picture is like Swimmy’s illustrations!” I feel so proud when they use these words!

As they both paint, they have detailed conversations with themselves, with each other, with the painting…life is discussed, elaborate scenarios played out…and i find out so many things about their world that i would otherwise have no clue about…who cried at school, which boy fell down, who likes to eat yoghurt and what another one does that is “SO cool!” Oh to be a fly on the wall!

Sid is still working on his grip and so his control over the brush is not great. But he enjoyed the stamping and then generally went berserk with the dot markers on the blue and green washed sheet producing something that looked quite pretty too.

This morning Nish looked at his work of art when he got up and declared “now for some glitter!”

Looking forward to a nice colorful Sunday!!!

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

