Felt board stories

Standard

All three boys love to sit and sing their songs and rhymes together. The twins like to tell each other stories or pretend read and I am constasntly seeing elements from their books incorporated into their other play. So i decided it was time to introduce them to the felt board.

This meant a trip to an art and craft store and boy was I happy when I stumbled upon Itsy Bitsy, a hobby store not too far from where we are in Bangalore. I picked up some felt sheets from there.

All the other stuff I was likely to need I had lying around at home.

I started by taking a sheet of blue felt (of the softer more flannel kind that i had from before) and gluing it onto one side of a cereal box.

Then I chose to cut out 3 baby monkeys, a bigger monkey, a strip for a bed,a crocodile, some small fish and a tree. (picked things that featured in more than one rhyme the kids know).

It was actually much simpler to cut these out than I imagined it would be and it was fun! I stuck to simple shapes that were easy to draw and cut and i guess the next round i can work on making fancier cut outs because i can see how much they are getting used by the boys.

Then we were set. When the boys got back to school, they saw the cereal box covered in blue felt and were immediately curious about it. So I introduced them to the concept using the monkeys and the rhyme 3 little monkeys jumping on the bed (i was a little lazy and made 3 not 5 for starters!) They absolutely loved it and we did 3 little monkeys swinging from a tree next followed by a fish and crocodile song they know.

A little later, I came out of my room to see Sid totally engrossed in recreating the fish rhyme while Amu watched with great interest.

IMG_6060

IMG_6064

IMG_6065

IMG_6067

IMG_6078IMG_6078

IMG_6067

IMG_6065

IMG_6064

Next on the list are 5 ducks (and mommy duck) and the Three billy Goats Gruff!

This is really super easy and lends itself to so much! Retelling, singing, making up your own stories, sequencing events…just plain fun!

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

