Writing our first stories!

Standard

We are a family of book lovers…we start and end our days with stories and books are an integral part of our day. The boys reference them all the time…”oh! that is like Eric Carle’s caterpillar” or “Aai..he farted…like Stinkysaurus” and so on.

Also, the twins are now into a lot of self conversation as well as make believe as they play by themselves or are painting. So I thought I would push them a little to try their hand at creating their own stories. Instead of starting with a story and then illustrating it, we went the other way because I have noticed how the twins are often talking about what they are drawing as they draw it.

So i let them work on some art and when they were done, I asked them to tell me what it was. “Can you tell me the story of your picture?” I asked. “I can type it up for you and we can read it many many times then if you like”

This sounded pretty exciting and alluring and thus we got started. Sid went first. I did not interrupt much or challenge his logic in any way. This was after all, his story not mine. And to me the process has always been more important than the product.

Nish and Sid had very different approaches and content as well as styles. I found Sid pulling in stuff from his everyday world and making up thinks about that while Nish seemed to veer more towards references from books and building around that.

Bear with us as I put down what we got:

Sid’s art and story:

IMG_6093

(just for ref…the pasted stuff on the coloured sheet is supposed to be the Enfield bike)

Once upon a time a policeman was talking at the signal (traffic light) and his Enfield bike handle was talking to him and the wheels and the engine too. Then, the policeman was going on his bike. He saw a car coming towards him and he had an accident and his full bike was broken. He was sad.
Then he was choosing a happy color for his full Tshirt (full sleeved Tshirt which Sid is obsessed with wearing) and he came back home.
Then he went for a ride on the bike to a garden with his brother. The end

(ok…so not super rational and no deep plot but this is a start! His current obsession with bikes and clothes comes out too!)

Nish’s art and story

Photo on 07-08-14 at 9.48 AM

(the background is watercolor, the train is pasted on with rectangled Nish stuck and what he has drawn above the train is a mouse)

Once upon a time there was a mouse and a train. It was going “dhing, dhang, dhang”. Then a lion came to eat the mouse up and a tiger came to eat the train. But the mouse scared the lion with his pokey tail. He poked him very hard and the lion ran away and the mouse started chasing the lion who went back to his cave. (i think he was probably influenced a little bit here by the Gruffalo’s Child). Then the mouse also came to the cave.
It was a big mouse with a big tail. The tail had big pokey things on it. It was dangerous for the lion to touch it. One of the pokey things went into the lion’s paw. he ran inside his cave. Then the mouse pinched the lion. The lion told the gardener to take out the pokey thing. Then the gardener threw the pokey thing straight inside the mouse’s eye. it went in his body and went everywhere with his blood. Then it came out and he was safe.

Then the mouse went inside a farm tractor and scared the sheep. The pokey things got stuck in the sheep’s wool. The end.

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

One response »

  1. So lovely!!! The stories are so creative and the art along with it. Sid and Nish are awesome. What a fantastic concept. I will be definitely trying it with my daughter

Leave a Reply

