Another recipe…yummy scrumptious (healthy?) cookies!

Standard

My quest for interesting food for the kids led me to another fun and delicious recipe today…actually Nish was flipping through a cookbook and spotted it and we decided to make the cookies.

The cookies are quite unconventional. The recipe calls for rice crispies and chocolate chips and walnuts (optional). I used puffed barley instead of the rice (picked up from a place called Vriksh which is a nice small organic store in our neighborhood). I also tossed in a handful of cranberries for good measure and they only enhanced an already stunning cookie…crunchy, chocolatey with a tinge of tartness from the cranberries and a delicious nuttiness from the roasted pecans (which i used in stead of walnuts). You can pull them out in 10 mins if you like your cookies slightly chewy or leave them for about 14 minutes if your wan them crispy. I did a couple of batches of both!

Here is the original recipe
Crunchy Jumbles (Source: The Complete Book of Baking by Carole Clements)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter at room temp
1 cup caster sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
pinch of salt
50 gm crisped rice cereal (I used puffed barley that i roasted to make it crisp)
175 gm chocolate chips
50 gm walnuts- optional (i used pecans because i had a few lying around)

IMG_6108

Method
Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celcious (350 F)
With an electric mixer, cream sugar and butter till light and fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla. Sift over the dflour, baking soda and salt and fold in carefully.
Add cereal, choc chips and nuts. Stir to mix well.
Drop spoonfuls of thre mixture onto greased baking sheets and bake until golden. (10 -14 minutes)
Transfer to a rack to cool.

Like i mentioned, i also tossed in some cranberries to cut through the sweet elements! Absolutely yum. Sid wants to eat it again first thing in the morning!

IMG_6126

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

