Discovering Beads!

Standard

We have discovered beads! Not the plastic ones that we had picked up last year from the toy store but REAL ones! At the art and craft store last month the boys discovered and aisle full of beads…and of course, in addition to felt sheets and glue that we had walked in for, we walked out with a bag of deliciously exciting beads that the boys picked up…specially for a necklace that they now wanted to make for my friend.

They got to work right away picking ones that they thought would go together and the result was actually quite pretty!

However, buoyed by the success of the necklace they decided that they wanted to make stuff for everybody they knew. The beads were not cheap and not light either…so not only was it going to be expensive to buy that many but also difficult to keep posting them to people.

A friend suggested using paper beads and so I got started on a fairly addicting project. I realized that it was going to be too difficult for the twins to actually roll the beads around a stick so i basically had them paint with acrylic on printer paper and then cut strips from that to make the beads. And i discovered mod podge in the process.

I use a knitting needle or thin paint brush to make the beads on and this way the holes are not too small so the kids can string through them easily…we have now started a bead bracelet factory in the family room 🙂

IMG_6220But seriously they love this so much more than the big plastic beads because i guess it ends up in a real product/object at the end of the process. And they love the fact that the people they gift these to are actually wearing them!

This is great for fine motor skills, counting as well as for creating and repeating patterns!

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

