Felt felt felt!

Standard

I am really discovering the magical magical world of felt. While it is nothing new in terms of a concept, the possibilities are endless and I love what I can do with it. The boys are really enjoying playing with felt board…whether it is stories or rhymes or math games or mr.potato head dress up stuff. It is plain and simple fun…not so difficult to make and quite versatile in its uses.

I am now working on a felt Quiet Book and the boys are supplying me with ideas and a wishlist.

In terms of stories and rhymes we now have: Three little pigs, The three Billy goats gruff, La Luna, Chicka chicka boom boom, 5 little monkeys jumping on the bed, 5 little monkeys swinging from a tree, five little fish, and Five little ducks went out one day. We have a ladybird counting game, a build it yourself fire trucks, matching shapes, potato head and make your own cupcakes.

It is great for literacy related devt, math skills, motor skills as well as promoting conversation, retelling, narration, imaginary play, etc. My boys are playing with the felt board all the time…the older ones don’t need me around ..they enjoy retelling stories using the felt board, they make up stories as they go along and in general have a blast. I plan to use it with the kids to practice math and phonics too.

Here are some pics:

IMG_6347 IMG_6346 IMG_6344 IMG_6341 IMG_6339 IMG_6338 IMG_6335 IMG_6334

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

