Experiments with ‘pot’?!

Standard

Last weekend on a rare occasion I decided to take an afternoon nap. My littlest fellow was curled up fast asleep with my husband and the twins showed no signs of being remotely tired. I tried to get them to lie down but with no success…so i finally let them be as they seemed to be playing well together and thought I would grab myself a little shut eye.

I woke up about an hour later feeling much better and refreshed and walked into the kids room. They were playing quite nicely with some puzzles and had many toys strewn on the floor.  As I plonked onto the floor to join them, Sid came to me with quite an enlightened expression on his face..”Aai!” he started with some visible excitement, “You knoooooow, some things don’t get flushed down the pot. “Like what?” I asked, a little concerned where this was headed. “Like the old phone. It is stuck in the pot. i flushed and flushed but it is not moving” Ok..shit was about to hit the fan…literally… I sprinted to their bathroom and sure enough, the old (anyway non functional..thank God for that) phone was lying in the pot, refusing to go down the drain. I yanked it out, ditched it on the side of the bathroom and washed my hands.

Satisfied that I had addressed the issue I went back to my spot on the floor. Sid and Nish returned and Sid started again. “But somethings don’t even sink. The phone sank” I looked at them, pretty annoyed. “What do you mean some things float? What else did you put into the pot?” Sid looked at his brother and pushed him forward “You tell her” he whispered. “The phone doesn’t float” Nish stated the obvious. “I know that” I replied, “I just fished it out of the bottom of the pot. What floated?”
“not the phone” replied Nish looking edgy and a little stressed.
“Guys you need to tell me what all has been put into the pot” i said
“The cricket bat did not fit into the pot at all” said Sid
“And the soft smiley face balls just sat on the water…right on top..they did not go in at all” said Nish looking like Archimedes…almost ready to jump screaming eureka.
“What else?” I asked. “Is there anything that you managed to flush down the loo?” (I was running their toys through my mind trying to figure out what might possibly begin causing some massive plumbing issue in our apartment now).
“The balls floated and even this small stick floated” said Sid
“What did not float and got flushed???” I repeated
“The phone did not go” quipped Nish
One by one we managed to list a whole bunch of things that did not go. I have yet to figure out what did go down…anyway, it has been a week now and no plumbing disasters so i guess if anything went down the pot it was fairly innocuous. (i hope).
“Quite cool right?” asked Sid
“Yeah and it was so much fun!” added Nish
I managed to hide my smile…and told them very very firmly that the pot was not a place to try their experiments in…we can reserve the sink and float stuff for the bath tub…and the ‘flushability’ of objects…well…let that just continue to be a mystery!

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

