Discovering cocoa butter

Standard

The Bangalore winter is here…it’s getting pretty cool and rather dry. Our bodies, so used to the Bombay humidity are not used to this and the kids skins have started looking a sorry sight. Lotions and moisturizers don’t seem to be doing anything much and poor amu is forever asking me to scratch his back and ‘bum-bum’.

So, I finally decided to whip up some body butter for my little fellows. Entry – cocoa butter…why had we not met before!? I found a bar of cocoa butter in a baking store. Then, I went and got some organic almond oil and organic apricot oil from Vriksh (our neighborhood organic store). Making thre body butter was actually very simple.

I used roughly 75 % cocoa butter and 25 % oils. First, i started out by letting the cocoa butter melt in a sort of a bain marie. Once it was completely melted, I added the oils, gave it a stir and put it into the freezer for about 10 minutes. Then i pulled it out and using an electric beater I whipped it up a bit. Once that was done, I put it into an empty container and it was ready to use. it hardens up again and basically melts when it comes into contact with the skin. When I rub my finger over the butter, it melts onto my fingertips and I can apply the body butter. it does not leave a sticky or greasy reisude, makes the skin feel really soft and pampered and as my boys put it “smells yummilicious!” The cool thing with the consistency of the body butter is that it is not runny or greasy or messy in the least. It goes from being a solid substance to a very easy to spread butter when it comes into contact with skin. The body temperature is perfect for getting it to melt. Otherwise it remains solid. So the kids can’t really play with it or mess it up either!

Let’s see how effective it is over the next few days. Amu used it this evening after his bath and has gone to bed feeling super soft and smelling delicious! Let’s see how his skin looks over the next few days. if it is indeed as effective as it appears to be then I am going to try all kinds of things with cocoa butter and oils!

(I got my recipe from http://ourlittlegreendot.com/homemade-body-butter-recipe/)

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

