Bubbles!!!

Standard

Which kid (or adult) does not like bubbles??? And if those bubbles are super big even better!!! I recently came across a recipe for gigantic bubbles online (http://happyhooligans.ca/homemade-giant-bubbles/) and since we had a house full of kids (mine and 2 close friends kids who were visiting for the holidays) I thought it would be a good time to try this out.  We had most of the ingredients the recipe required (only needed to pick up glycerine) so it was easy to put together. I followed the recipe pretty closely….only thing was that I did not have any wool or yarn so i used a stiffer twine type string instead. We got some pretty super bubbles and it was the highlight of our picnic to Cubbon Park! While the bubbles were certainly nowhere near the size that i saw in the pictures, they were definitely much much bigger than the ones we usually get and the boys had a wonderful time experimenting with different methods to get big bubbles. IMG_7529 They blew hard, blew gently and slowly, ran forwards and backwards..constantly trying to get bigger and better bubbles. it was loads of fun and I am planning to try varying the proportions of liquid soap and glycerine to get bigger bubbles next time. Definitely something to try…I had a blast with it and the kids had a fab time too! IMG_7501 IMG_7517 What you need:

  • 6 cups water
  • 1/2 cup dish detergent
  • 1/2 cup corn flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp glycerine

Dissolve the corn flour in the water.  Then gently stir in the remaining ingredients.    Allow your mixture to sit for at least an hour, stirring occasionally if you see the cornstarch settling to the bottom.  (for exact details and images check out the link mentioned in the blog   post)

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

2 responses »

  1. Also, really feel that something like this is great for process based experiential learning..the kids keep trying different strategies to see what leads to the best outcome…they experiment with different techniques to see different results…getting a BIG bubble versus getting one that actually detaches from the twine to float away…understanding that one could either blow at the soapy film or let the wind do the job…waiting for a gust of wind versus creating one by running forwards or backwards…They watch themselves and each other and build on their existing understanding of how things like bubbles work. All in all, a definite must try!

Leave a Reply

