A fun and simple birthday party

Standard

I like small birthday parties…simple ones that focus on the birthday child and his friends and the things he likes. I am not big on party entertainers and fancy decorations…it’s not about being frugal..it’s about looking at what one really needs ..and in our case simple works just fine.

The boys turned 4 this weekend and we did a small celebration at home. About 10 kids (and our 3 boys)…al the kids at the party were neighbors – children the boys see and play with everyday. The set up was simple. We had a sort of theme – superheroes because all three boys and into super heroes. So, I basically cut up adult tshirts to make capes and used felt to make masks for all the kids. I put these into a tub at on a chair at the door so each kid could pick one up as he/she entered. We had red, blue and yellow balloons all over the room and a spiderman bunting that I picked up in a party shop.

I put out our tractor mat, car mat and a lot of vehicles to go with those in addition to a kitchen set and some yummy scented playdough (a ball of chocolate playdough and another one that was orange colored and scented – https://myfourboysandme.wordpress.com/2013/11/01/delicious-scented-playdough/ , https://myfourboysandme.wordpress.com/2014/06/25/all-that-glitters/ – two playdough recipes) and we were set.

Food was again – simple…mac and cheese, raagi crisps, carrot and cucumber sticks and hummus, fresh popcorn, juice, potato chips, jello…and of course, cake! Everything (except the potato chips and juice) was made at home. We used the children’s everyday plastic ikea plates and glasses instead of disposable ones to minimize wastage.

The cake was easy to make and great fun to decorate. Made an enormous chocolate cake (round), made icing with butter and icing sugar and drew a spider web in white on the cake. Then, using marzipan, i colored the marzipan red, rolled it into a ball and then flattened it to make a spiderman face which again i decorated with white and deep blue icing. Placed the spidey face in the center of the web and then wrote happy birthday Sid and Nish across the web in blue.

Very tragically I have no pictures…because (ok i kicked myself enough already) i had taken the memory card out of my cam earlier that day and forgot to put it back in. So we took tons of pictures…but did not actually take them!

The kids had a blast. Since the majorty were boys, they were super happy with the tractor mat and cars which they played with for a long time. Then it was onto the play dough and I am so glad that I had kept the play dough out in the balcony because boy did we have a play doughy mess at the end of the party! But the kids kept busy and the adults could sit down and have a sane conversation without having to bother at all with the children!

IMG_8172

IMG_8161

We also had made a spiderman pinata and I gave the boys plastic raquets to try and break it. Lots of jumps and whacks later one of the mums punched the pinata and it exploded confetti and candy all over the kids…of course there was a scramble to collect as many as possible! I loved how one little girl ignored the cansy and chased after the flying confetti instead.

After the pinata was broken

After the pinata was broken

The boys were so happy and excited all evening – i am glad we kept it simple and focused on them! I enjoyed every minute of it too!

I am asking my friends for pics…some of them were taking photos on their pones…so hopefully i will have a few to put here in a day or so!

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

