Yummy snack…healthy too!

Standard

Three boys = lots of random snacking. “What can I eat?” is something i hear at all times except at the table when they ought to be asking the question. Especially when i pick them up from school or summer camp they want something interesting to snack on in the car.

I am not a fan of junk food…chip type stuff on a regular basis is a no-no..yet i can only hand out that many apples or carrot sticks 🙂

Anyway, tried out something as I found a lot of white chocolate lying in my fridge. Wondering what to do with it (had bought it to make stuff over christmas but did not use any of it)…i thought i would try and make some healthy-ish snack with it (starting point it after all chocolate).

So basically, in a bowl, i took some rice crispies (had got them from a baking shop earlier), muesli, almond slivers, raisins, pumpkin seeds and some m&m’s i had lying around. Then i took about 180 gm of white chocolate, added a tsp of oil to it and put it in the microwave for 30 seconds. took it out, stirred it a little and put in for another 30 on high. that was enough to melt the chocolate. I poured it over the mix (which was about 1 1/2 cups but i had not measure exactly. I realized when i did batch 2 that it is easier to pour the mix into the melted white chocolate and then mix it up well. I then dropped small spoonfuls onto a baking tray lined with butter paper and put it in the fridge to set for 10 minutes.

Super easy and a really delicious snack at the end of it. You can play around with what goes into the mix…kinda like trail mix in white chocolate. The boys and their friends demolished the first lot in the car when i picked them up and asked for another batch…so i have obliged.

am putting in a couple of pics…IMG_8284

IMG_8282

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

