The Mulberry Cooperative

Standard

I just liked how that sounded…so in case you are wondering if we’ve taken up an agricultural hobby…negative.

We were in Lonavala last week. The boys had been so boisterous at home in Mumbai, cranky, squabbling and fighting…mom decided it would be nice for them to just be able to run around in the garden and let off some pent up energy. So we all drove up to Lonavala (just what the doctor ordered).

Sure enough, the boys were running all over the garden, enjoying the trees and the grass and the little pond. The highlight of the first day (and our trip) for them however, was the mulberry tree.

Otherwise busy snatching stuff from each other and complaining loudly about it…the mulberry tree actually managed to bring the trio together. The tree had lots of mulberries on it..more red than black but once they got a taste of the mulberry they wanted more …and more. The ones on the lower branches were quickly picked and eaten but they still wanted more…however, the others were a little too high for them.

Nish and Sid tried jumping but they only managed to grasp at some of the leaves. Finally they came up with a plan…they came up with what i decided to call the mulberry cooperative. Sid jumped, caught hold of a leaf and pulled it gently down (he quickly realized that if he wasn’t gentle the leaf would simply tear). As he pulled the branch down using the leaf, Nish secured the branch and pulled it lower, Finally Amu was able to pick the mulberries for all of them while his brothers held the branches down for him. They all shared the spoils and proudly sported reddinsh purple stains all around their lips!

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

