A meltdown…quite literally!!!

Standard

My almost 3 yr old is having serious tantrums…over the craziest stuff. sometimes it is easy to talk to him through them sometimes it is plain crazy and I have to keep reminding myself of how this is to be expected so that I don’t burst a vessel.

Here is what happened as we were getting ready for bed last night…

Me: Ok guys, it’s time for bed. Each one of you pick a book and settle down. I am going to read to you if you like

Boys all run and get a book of their choice. Twins get one each. Amu gets 3.

Mine are all small he announces. Possibly valid rationalization and I am in no mood to split hairs at this point.

First we read amu’s book …something about a brave caveman…he wants an encore and the twins oblige.

Next Nish picks out his book on dinosaurs. Amu gets upset…he wants to read his second book first. Twins oblige again and we read his second book. Then back to the one on dinosaurs. As we are reading it Amu puts his hand on the dino picture on the cover and yells loudly “OUCH!!!! he bit me! the T-Rex just bit me”

We smile at him and continue reading while he proceeds to let out the most realistic cries of pain.

Amu: I need ice!!! ice!!! ice!!!! quick give me ice!

In the interest over getting the book read, i give him the ice.

He come back into the room with his bowl of ice (which he has ‘selected’ from the ice tray)

As we are reading the story there is another yell from him.

Amu: it’s gone!!! it is all gone and now i only have water!!!! i want it back

The meltdown he had after that was crazy and i really was about to lose it too. As I raised my voice and firmly told him to stop yelling, Nish reminded me that “he is just tired and being a baby aai. Don’t get angry!” I needed that little reminder. We tried to find him a solution – more ice? Nope he wanted the same ice back. Maybe we could refreeze the water? Nope – he wanted the same ice back JUST NOW. I told him to stop being ridiculous, i asked him to sit in another room so we could read and then realized how mean that sounded. I don’t think it made any sense to rty and rationalize with him at that point in any case. So i picked him up and hoped that some cuddling would help. Not too sure that worked!
Finally he cried and fell asleep and I felt hassled, tired and a little miserable about getting angry.

This morning I came across this article on FB…it came at a time when i certainly needed to read it!
http://www.pbs.org/parents/expert-tips-advice/2015/10/said-want-red-bowl-responding-toddlers-irrational-behavior/?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=pbsofficial&utm_campaign=parents_expert

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

