Gaia: A school that we will truly miss

Standard

Today was the boys’ last day at school…

I still remember when we had moved to Bangalore two years ago and started scouting for a school. We had the bar set very high…after their preschool in Mumbai, we wanted something that would be similar…a place where they could be themselves, where they could be children, discover joy in simple things…a school that was uncomplicated and offered them a chance to discover themselves. it wasn’t easy but after a lot of thinking we decided on Gaia…a small stand alone preschool in RT Nagar, Bangalore. We fell in love the premises when we first walked in with the boys. The gate opened and we stepped into a lovely garden compound with fruit trees, birds, a nice play area, a sandpit, jungle gyms and other cool stuff to climb. There were tyres for children to walk and balance on, a trampoline, a little tree house and a puppet house too.

The classrooms all connected to each other in a lovely house – something i loved straightaway. But yet i was worried…Would the teachers be good? Would they take the time to understand the boys? Would they allow them to learn at their own pace and find themselves in the process? Or would they be swallowed up in the rut of rote learning and piles of homework? Would the teachers compare the twins? Would they judge them or misunderstand them? Would they provide them with the stimulus they were so used to getting at By The Sea? Of course I was worried…who does not want the best for their kids?

And now, two years later, as we get ready to move once again, I cannot thank our stars enough that we discovered Gaia when we did. It met all I wanted it to and more…the children have loved every day there and every person…and have been loved back too. They have spent time watching ants and hammering nails and observing birds and climbing all over the place. They have come home every day with sand in their hair and mud on their feet, with seeds in their pockets and so many stories. They have read so many books, played games and heard songs…they have started to read and write and understand numbers too. They have made friends and memories!

Their teachers have loved hem for who they are, they have washed away boo-boos and comforted them on days when i was traveling and they were low…they have gotten to know my boys for who they are and accepted them for that. They have been open to feedback and always ready to learn from around them.

Every child knows the other, every teacher knows every child and all three of my boys are comfortable with all the adults in the school. The person who runs the school is an incredibly wonderful lady and my boys love her to bits. Sid enjoys sitting down and chatting with her, pulling her leg and running off with her hairclip – and he knows she does not judge him badly for that – for she does not look at it as indiscipline but just a child’s fun way of connecting with her.

Thank you Team Gaia for making the last two years so wonderful, magical and full of love and care for my three boys. We are really really going to miss you! Gaia is such an important integral part of our life in Bangalore…a part that made our stay here even more special!

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

